Home Campus Directory | A-Z Index

New Members Join Honor Society

New inductees with the Delta Mu Sigma Board of Directors.
2/8/2012 —

The Delta Mu Sigma Honor Society at Penn State DuBois has inducted its new members for the Spring 2012 semester.  In all, 33 new members have joined the society this semester, bringing membership to nearly 200 strong.


In order to qualify for membership students must maintain a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or above, and be involved in campus or community service.


"You're now a part of a community that is dedicated to academic excellence and to helping others," Chancellor Anita McDonald told the inductees.  "This is an opportunity for you to practice leadership, and to exercise those skills and prepare for what you'll do when you leave the campus."    


Delta Mu Sigma reaches out to DuBois and the surrounding area by offering community service such as a "Dine Out" event at Luigi's Restaurant, with part of the proceeds benefiting scholarship funds.  Members have volunteered with organizations like Habitat for Humanity, and organize a haunted house on campus each Halloween and donate proceeds to local charities.  Tony Vallone, the society's faculty advisor and campus English professor noted the charitable work done by Delta Mu Sigma Members.  He said, "We are evolving as an organization.  We are a service organization, serving the campus and our community." 


Pictured are new inductees with the Delta Mu Sigma Board of Directors.  


Seated, left to right: Makenzie Ceprish, Samantha Smitchko, Angela Stahlman, Alice Gyamfi, Tony Vallone, faculty advisor; Ashley Hilyer, board member; Jaci Gordon, board member; Adam Snyder, board chairman; Andrew Piccolo, board co-chair; Rachel Fairman, board member; Chancellor Anita McDonald. 


Standing, left to right: Zach Thayer, Joshua Kunig, Evan Aravich, Jena Pierotti, Brandon Genevro, Kristen Knisley, Amanda Ickes, Lacey Gamble, Rebecca Horner, Kaitlyn Fenton, Danielle Cyran, Kelley Gentry, Kristen Benwich, Alice Ahn, Tammy Uong, April Sperfslage, Alexandra Blose, Lisa Tinker, P.J. Monella. 

Email this story to a friend Facebook Twitter