Home Campus Directory | A-Z Index

Students, Faculty, Staff Recognized at 75th Annual Honors Convocation

Bow Ties
Chancellor Melanie Hatch addresses the audience at the 75th Annual Honors Convocation. She is flanked by members of the Delta Mu Sigma board. From left are P.J Monella, Austin Sheibley, and Adam Snyder, with advisor Tony Vallone.
4/25/2014 —

The 75th Annual Delta Mu Sigma Honors Convocation at Penn State DuBois recognized outstanding students, faculty, and staff members on Friday night in the campus' Hiller Auditorium. Awards at the Honors Convocation recognize students for a wide range of accomplishments, from academic excellence, to overcoming hardships to succeed. Members of the staff and faculty were celebrated for their commitment to supporting students and for their service to the campus and community.

"These awards are going to students who consistently go above and beyond the call of duty; the students who always push themselves beyond where they have been comfortable in the past; students who challenge themselves daily to do a better job, to put in that extra bit of effort," said Penn State DuBois Chancellor Melanie Hatch while offering a welcome to the audience.

"Tonight we acknowledge and celebrate the achievements of these Penn State DuBois students for their academic success and efforts within the community," said Delta Mu Sigma Chairman Adam Snyder. "The students who will receive these awards, scholarships, and certificates should be utterly proud of themselves, for going above and beyond, because they have made a difference on this campus, to make it a better place this year"

The Delta Mu Sigma Honors Convocation award winners for 2014 are:
Baccalaureate Degree in Business Administration
Richard M. Smith Outstanding Senior Award
Emily Callender

Women’s Studies Academic Excellence Award
Jessica Noland

Science and Mathematics
Academic Excellence in Math Award
Colleen Gross

Academic Excellence in Earth Science Award
Kali McLaughlin

Outstanding Academic Achievement Award
Beth Hipps

Engineering Technology
Outstanding Academic Achievement Award
Robert McMeekin

Outstanding Academic Achievement Award
Brandi Billotte
Kendall Neal

Associate Degree in Information Science and Technology
Academic Excellence Award
Cody Weible

Associate Degree in Occupational Therapy
Academic Excellence Award
Shalane Read

Associate Degree in Occupational Therapy
Student of the Year Award
Alexandria Streich

Baccalaureate Degree in Human Development
And Family Studies
Academic Excellence Award
Jessica Reirdon
James Warholak

Highest Cumulative Average
Freshman Associate Degree
After One Semester
Leah S. McKay

Freshman Baccalaureate Degree
After One Semester
Charles J. Miller
Alyse Nystrom
Carrie J. Reesman
Trevor D. Rokosky
Molly E. Stoltz
Jerod C. White

Sophomore Baccalaureate Degree
After Three Semesters
Yini Ran
Qingqing Zhao

Upperclassman Baccalaureate Degree
After Four Semesters
Jessica L. Reirdon
Rachel M. Stetler


Excellence in Academic Advising Award
Laurie Breakey
Fred Terwilliger

Students’ Choice Service Award
Mark Matusky

Janette M. Burns Award
Sandy Corbeil
Janet Hannah
Polly Read

DuBois Advising Council Faculty Advising Award
Keely Roen

Academic Affairs Adjunct Educator of the Year Award
Kelly Redding

Pennie Mowrey Memorial Award
Angela Geer

Terry Hartman Community Service Award
Joe Shields

Student Affairs Award
Courtney Mullins

Laurel Award
Evan Aravich

Eric A. and Josephine S. Walker Award
Jordan Eisman

Mansion Memorial Award
Emily Callender

Susanne Waitkus Faculty Award
Dr. Charles “Hoagy” Schaadt
Dr. Sally Vavala

Delta Mu Sigma Staff Award
Mark Matusky
Jeff Pernesky

Delta Mu Sigma Award
Howard Hartzfeld, Jr.

Delta Mu Sigma Scholarship
Tawnya Cordwell

Honorary Delta Mu Sigma Memberships
Adell Doty

Delta Mu Sigma Alumni Award
Steve Bearfield

Email this story to a friend Facebook Twitter